Skip to content ↓

Trust Board

The Trustees have a four-year term of office. The main responsibilities of the Trustees are to

  • Set the strategic direction of the Trust
  • Hold senior school leadership to account
  • Oversee the Trust’s financial performance

Ben Stickley - SECAT Chief Executive Officer (Ex-Officio)

Appointed 16th January 2023

Riz Malik - Chair of Trust Board

Appointed 28th September 2020

Appointed Chair of the Trust Board 11th September 2023

  • Founder & Director of R3 Mortgages, a property finance brokerage based in Southend
  • 20 years+ experience in financial services
  • MBA (Warwick Business School), BSc Economics & Management Science, Diploma in Investment Planning
  • Member of the National Association of Commercial Finance Brokers & Association of Mortgage Intermediaries
  • Former Lead Ambassador for the Warwick London Alumni Network
  • Former Patron of the British Pakistani Foundation

Emma Hawker - Curriculum & Pupil Matters Committee

Appointed 27th January 2023
  • Impact and Training Manager at education charity Governors for Schools
  • Previously Education Adviser specialising in assessment at Essex County Council
  • Former Key Stage 1 moderator for Essex County Council
  • PGSE in Primary Education
  • Former primary school teacher
  • BA History
  • Volunteer with local family support organisation A Better Start Southend
  • Chair of the YourFamily Partnership Group

Robin Knight - Curriculum & Pupil Matters Committee

Appointed 1st September 2016*
  • Employed in the IT service sector
  • Founding member of the Shoebury Educational Partnership
  • Local Governor supporting the Southend Schools Governors Association

Lee Thorne - Chair of Curriculum & Pupil Matters Committee

Appointed 25th February 2022
  • Headteacher - Southend YMCA Community School, since September 2019
  • Previously a Deputy headteacher in mainstream coastal school for 8 years
  • Degree in Sports Science and Health & Human Biology
  • Currently studying for my NPQEL
  • Worked in the Security and Building industry for a number of years

Dominic Fenton - Audit, Risk & Resource Committee

Appointed 18th July 2022


Sildi Jasharaj - Chair of Audit, Risk & Resource Committee

Appointed 24th March 2023


Chris Loding - Audit, Risk & Resource Committee

Appointed 2nd October 2023


Harriet West - Curriculum & Pupil Matters Committee

Appointed 26th April 2024


*Reappointed for a further 4 year term